Feel the fear and do it anyway!

Morning people…how`s things? All good I hope.

…Feel as if I have been neglecting my wee blog (sorry guys)…It`s just that I have been so busy recently and actually finding the time to sit down and write has been a bit of a contest recently.

Now don’t get me wrong…it`s not all work and no play for Lorna at the moment because it`s been a mixture of both 😉

In fact it’s a good kind of busy that makes me happy… hahaha!

Have definitely upped the ante this past week or so with regards to my wee fitness regimen too.

After a lot of procrastination and will do it tomorrow I joined the gym last week…go me!!

 It`s not that I wasn’t motivated to do it or lazy…I was just plain petrified and embarrassed!

Why you ask?

Well…as you lot probably know I used to be really fit and kept myself in really good shape up to the age of about 35. I exercised nearly every day and had a great wee figure because I worked at it. When I started to put on weight because of other stuff going on in my life I was just too self-conscious to go to the gym or pool and the slide started. Like a snowball…the more weight I put on the less I did…to the point where I just gave up. The thought of even walking through the doors of a gym was enough to make me break out in a cold sweat after a while. My self-confidence was shot to pieces to be honest.

me aged 34...before the weight gain

Anyhoo…proud to say I have finally broken that pesky curse and actually did it last Monday (all on my wee one-some too). As the saying goes people…sometimes you just have to “feel the fear and do it anyway”.

God…I can tell you I was sooooooo nervous when I walked in there the first time. I think my resting heart rate was about 150bpm and I felt like a rabbit in the headlights lol!

…However, it’s a great wee local gym the fitness instructor was very nice and put me at ease immediately.

I had 3 hours of personal induction last week over 3 separate days and over that period gradually became more confident and less self-conscious. I now have my own wee personal programme and I am loving it.

…Takes just over an hour and burns 500 calories a time… Am loving the mixture of cardio strength training. Will be great for toning too…only 7 weeks to the girly holiday (and the bikini…yikes) so need to get at it pronto ha!

Managed 5 days last week and this week am planning on doing the same. Still keeping up with the walking though because I love it and it`s great for fat burning.  I actually am starting to feel like I used to in my head (as in actually loving keeping fit)…it`s such a wee buzz!

Weight loss wise…it`s slow and steady for me. Am finding that sometimes I don’t lose on the scales for a week or two and then whoosh a 4-5lb drop. This past two weeks for example I have not lost anything on the scales but trousers I bought a month ago are hanging on me…go figure? The main thing though I think is not to get too hung up on the numbers and to just keep keeping on with the programme.

Heading to the races for a girly day out a week on Friday and can`t wait. Will be a great wee excuse to get the glad-rags on again and glam it up for the day with my gorgeous gals…Champagne, shades and St Tropez all the way ha!!

…Am wearing a lovely new silk red dress (my fave colour) and a pair of killer heels. Feels so amazing to be able to wear that kinda stuff once more and feel comfortable and attractive again…bring it on!

Right peeps, better sign off for now…want to squeeze in a beach walk before work.

Take care and keep keeping on!

Love

Lorna

Xx

“Sometimes your joy is the source of your smile, but sometimes

your smile can be the source of your joy.” ~ Thich Nhat Hanh

About Lorna Pitt

Hi everyone... I am on the cusp of a new life.....hopefully a happier, healthier, fitter new life. Come with me and follow my journey as I take my life back...one pound at a time! ps....its happening!!! xx xx
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

